June 17, 2013–Brute Neighbors

Day 108/365.  I looked up while waiting for my suitcase at ATL baggage claim, and saw ants!

2013-06-17_0002

I was curious about giant ants on the ceiling, and found out that in 2001 the city of Atlanta commissioned Joseph Peragine to create a permanent installation for the Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport.  He created a display of giant red ants and called it “Brute Neighbors”.  I fly through Atlanta on the way to other places, but it isn’t usually my final destination, so this sculpture was new to me.  It’s fun to find art in unexpected places!

2013-06-17_0001

Leave a Reply

