April! Photo a Day, Day 44– More Golden Hour stuff

Day 44.    Yesterday I talked about some of elements of good photos that Scott Kelby and Matt Kloskowski shared via critiques on their show The Grid.  They emphasized that one of the keys to a good photograph is good light.  The best light is found 2 hours a day–just before sunrise and just before sunset.   In yesterday’s post I shared my barn picture, taken about 30 minutes before sunset with clouds in the background. 

For today’s photo I got to the location of the picture I wanted and discovered that it would work better as a Golden Hour morning shot.  I’m setting my alarm for Saturday and Sunday morning to try again.  In the meantime, here is a photo I took just before dusk. It wasn’t  the subject I planned, but at least I’m trying to learn about light.

I’m playing with Alien Skin’s Exposure 4 (15-day trial) and it is a lot of fun. The interface is easy to use and I love all the different film and movie film presets. Some of the ones I tried on this image included Technicolor Process 2, Technicolor Wizard of Oz, Kodak Panatomic-X, Fuji Velvia, Jaws Color Shift and Wizard of Oz Sepia. They almost had me at Kodak Panatomic-X because it was one of my favorite films ever! I experimented a little more because I wanted to showcase the red of the tulips in the Golden Hour light. I finally decided on Bleach Bypass and tweaked it by adding 25% grain and using one of the borders also in this plugin. Here are the results of my experiment.